We retain your personal data while your account is in existence or as needed to provide you Services. This includes data you or others provided to us and data generated or inferred from your use of our Services. If you choose to close your account, your personal data will generally stop being visible on our Services within 24 hours. We generally delete closed account information within 30 days of account closure.
However, we may retain your personal data even after you have closed your account if reasonably necessary to comply with our legal obligations, meet regulatory requirements, resolve disputes, maintain security, prevent fraud and abuse, enforce our Terms of Service, or fulfill your request to “unsubscribe” from further messages from us. We will retain de-personalized information after your account has been closed.
Any data that you include on your profile and any content you post or social action (e.g., likes and comments) you take on our Services will be seen by users of our Services.
In addition to profiles, our Services allow viewing and sharing information through posts, likes, follows, and comments. So when you share an article or a post publicly, it can be viewed by everyone and re-shared anywhere (subject to your profile settings). Or when you follow a person or organization, you are visible to others as a follower. Similarly, when you like, re-share, or comment on another’s content, others will be able to view these actions and associate it with you (e.g., your name and profile).
We provide choices about the collection and use of your data in your profile settings. You can ask us to delete or stop using all or some of your personal data (e.g., if we have no legal right to keep using it). You can also ask us to change your data in certain cases, such as if it’s inaccurate. You can also ask us for a copy of your personal data.